Walker Cup 2021

31 July 2021, Meadows

The Walker Cup was won this year by Andrew Milligan.

There were six entrants for this AC competition, a one-day event, open to players with handicaps of 10 and over. We used an Egyptian format, the winner being decided by the highest ranking from at least four games. Games were 18 point, with a time limit of 1 hour 20 minutes. Standard handicap rules applied.

Fortunes fluctuated as the games progressed but after three rounds the contenders were Andrew Milligan (107), Brian Cosford (104) and Quentin Stevens (104). In the final round Andrew beat Rachel, Brian beat Quentin and Andrew won the tournament by a narrow margin.

A good time was had by all despite the light drizzle which continued for most of the day.

Brian Cosford


  Games Points Beat
Andrew Milligan 4 111 Brian Cosford +2, Quentin Stephens +1, Rachel Frith +9
Brian Cosford 4 109 Joe Lennon +2, Rachel Frith +1, Quentin Stephens +3
Quentin Stephens 4 99 Rachel Frith +1, Jola Jurasinska +7
Rachel Frith 4 91 Joe Lennon +6
Jola Jurasinska 3 104 Andrew Milligan +7, Joe Lennon +11
Joe Lennon 3 86